The stunning hexagonal timber mart building is over 150 years and the only remaining of its kind in Scotland. Set up in 1850 by agricultural pioneer Thomas Mitchell Innes, he foresaw the opportunities that would come along with the arrival of the railway in East Linton in 1846. He bought the site in 1840 from local farmer George Rennie, brother of East Linton’s famous son, the engineer John Rennie, who built London Bridge. This new transport link made the village an ideal centre for farmers and market gardeners from miles around and meant fresh Scottish produce could be transported for sale as far afield as London. The market thrived for a century before the axing of East Linton station in 1963. Whilst the building has been in use as a workshop and for storage since, it has been allowed to deteriorate and has been at risk of demolition on a number of occasions. We are proud and privileged to be able to save The Mart and give it a new lease of life, in doing so returning it to the heart of community for generations to come.
The Mart building will be open for public events in 2018. Follow us on social media to stay updated.